The First Step
Real estate is a valuable and profitable business to be in. People who qualify for their real estate license contribute in many ways to Florida’s economy as well as to the wealth-creation and happiness of millions of property owners. It is essential for everyone who is considering getting their Florida real estate license to understand some of the basics that Florida license law requires.
The first step is to know what the law sets out. That way, prospective Realtors can choose the course and school which will enable them to pass their license exam as easily and quickly as possible. It is a sobering thought that many people do not pass the exam the first time. Choosing the right school, therefore, is the right first step.
The Basics of Licensure
- Chapter 475 of State Statute says that a broker associate or sales associate shall be licensed in their legal name.
- A person (as opposed to a legal entity such as a corporation) must be at least 18 years of age, have a high school diploma or equivalent, and be of good character.
- Sales associates and brokers must be suitably qualified to perform real estate business.
- To become suitably qualified, license applicants must have satisfactorily completed approved courses offered by accredited educational establishments.
- The approved courses are 63 hours for a sales associate and 72 hours for a broker. This includes passing an end-of-course exam set by the school.
- The courses may be taken online or via live streaming.
- To qualify to take the broker’s exam, applicants must have been registered as an active sales associate for at least 24 months during the preceding 5 years.
- They do not have to have been active in Florida during that time.
- After initially passing the state license exam, licensees must complete post-license courses of 45 hours for a sales associate or 60 hours for a broker.
- To stay up to date with Florida law, real estate ethics, and other relevant issues, licensees must complete at least 14 hours of continuing education classes every 2 years after their initial post-license class.
- The educational establishment must provide the student with a certificate of satisfactory course completion, as approved by Florida’s Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR.)
- DBPR renews the license every two years on proof of satisfactory completion of the continuing education.
- The law allows licensees to become inactive, that is they will not work as a real estate professional. But to keep their license they must still complete all required continuing education.
Florida law is clear and comprehensive. Its priority is to protect the general public in its dealings with real estate professionals. To qualify as quickly as possible as a real estate sales associate or broker (that is without having to retake classes and resit exams) it is essential to choose a course provider with care. If you would like to learn more about IFREC’s classes and standards, please just click this link to contact us.